Texas Car Insurance — Underage Drivers, Driving While Intoxicated, and the SR-22
Here’s the best way to quickly compare Texas car insurance rates – get a free car insurance quote from Texascarinsurancerates.org. Sometimes it can be difficult to find cheap Texas auto insurance quotes. Insurance providers find it convenient to categorize their clients into certain groups, usually according to their risk level. The high risk group is composed of young inexperienced drivers, individuals who have been caught driving while intoxicated, and people who have been tasked to file an SR-22 for one reason or another. Sadly for them, their risk status makes it extremely difficult to find reasonably priced policies since most providers view them as liabilities. That is not to say that it is an impossible task because there are ways to reduce rates whatever your record might be. Find out more in this article.
TX Car Insurance for Juvenile Drivers
To guard against relative inexperience, states have seen it fit to implement a tiered licensing structure for drivers in their late teens. These laws aim to balance the needs of young drivers and the public who might be affected by the errors. During the first few years of operating a car, teens must abide by the following restrictions:
Graduated Driver Licensing Law Requirements in Texas
|Learner’s permit||15 years old|
|Intermediate license||16 years old|
|Full licensure||17 years|
|Mandatory Learner’s Permit Hold||6 months|
|Supervised Practice Driving||20hrs; at least 10hrs of which must be at night|
|Unsupervised Nighttime Driving Ban||Prohibition between 12:00AM-5:00AM during intermediate stage, secondary enforcement|
|Passenger Restrictions||Prohibition of having more than one passenger under 21 years old|
|Cell Phone Use||Prohibition on non-emergency calls, including hands-free use, during initial 12 months of intermediate stage|
|Texting||Prohibition during intermediate stage and for all drivers when crossing school zones|
DUI Insurance in Texas
If an officer catches you driving under the influence, then be ready for these consequences: imprisonment ranging from 72hrs to as much as 180 days which could be increased to 2 years if there is a child under 15 years old among the passengers; suspended license from 90 days to 1 year; a fine that could reach $2,000 or $10,000 if there is a child under 15 years old among the passengers; and an annual surcharge of $1,000 for three consecutive years or $2,000 if the Blood Alcohol Level breaches 0.16%.
SR-22 insurance in Texas
There are only few instances that would warrant the filing of an SR-22 and these are usually the cases wherein severe violations were committed, like driving without the mandatory insurance papers and initiating a road accident. Sometimes, driving while intoxicated will also warrant this filing. All the violations mentioned can end up with a license suspension and the SR-22 comes up it is one of the requirements for re-acquisition in many states, as it is in Texas.
Don’t even think of driving without insurance as this can cause more headaches in the long run. Comply with this requirement in Texas and you will have an easier time as a motorist. Just find Texas auto insurance quotes from reputable providers and get the best plan you can afford. Gather Texas car insurance rates quickly through our search tool at Texascarinsurancerates.org. Enter your zip code and other pertinent details to get started.
Our quote finder is your best bet in locating a suitable plan. Try it now!
Also make sure you look for savings in these other major Texas cities:Texas State Facts
FAQ Texas State